Schloss Oberhausen



Schloss Oberhausen probably harks back to the knight's seat of Overhus (also known as Overhuysen or Averhus) from the late 12th or early 13th century. In the year 1443 the moated castle controlling an Emscher River passage fell to the von der Hoven clan based in the fiefdom of Kleve. In 1615, Overhus then passed on to become the domain of Conrad von Boenen. The castle was often plundered and seized due to its advantageous position at the important Emscher transition, as took place in the Eighty Years' War for example.

The Lord of the castle, Friedrich Adolf Freiherr von Boenen zu Berge und Oberhaus, married the heiress Wilhelmine Franziska von Westerholt-Gysenberg in 1770 and assumed the name and coat of arms of her lineage on his appointment to the hereditary imperial court by the Kaiser. However the Westerholt-Gysenbergs then resided at Schloss Berge and left the Oberhausen castle to decay.

In 1801 Friedrich Adolf assigned the castle as a leased manor estate and family domain to his son Maximilian Friedrich Graf von Westerholt-Gysenberg and daughter-in-law Friederike Karoline von Bretzenheim, the illegitimate daughter of the Bavarian-Palatinate elector Karl Theodor.
Maximilian Friedrich, who in 1806 became principle of the court stable for Joachim Murat, the Grand Duke of Berg (and from 1808 the King of Naples), was the recipient of a significant sum of money from this court office and also in 1809 from the fortune of his wife.

Because the neglected castle was deemed inappropriate for their social status, Maximilian Friedrich commissioned the architect August Reinking in 1803 to draw up plans for the renovation and extension of an approximately 200-metre-long inn and posting station to the north-west of the castle to become a neoclassical manor house. Schloss Oberhausen was constructed and fitted out according to these plans as a noble place of residency between approximately 1804 and 1820/1821. From 1808 the landscape architect and Dusseldorf court gardener Maximilian Friedrich Weyhe designed the manor house park and gardens.

Forty years later the family transferred their domicile to Arenfels Castle at Bad Hönningen; after 1858 Schloss Oberhausen remained unused by the members of the noble family, and in 1884, agricultural operations were also terminated. From 1891 the castle building was put out to let. In 1896 the city of Oberhausen purchased the castle grounds and redesigned them as a public domain. The castle itself became the property of the Emschergenossenschaft cooperative in 1908 who then sold it to the city in 1911.

During the Second World War parts of the main building as well as the roof of the Small Castle were destroyed. In 1947 the Municipal Gallery was inaugurated with a collection that included impressionist landscapes from Max Liebermann, Max Slevogt and Lovis Corinth. A focal point was also the collection of international prints from the 19th and 20th centuries with works from Pablo Picasso, Odilon Redon, Maurice Denis and others.

The former agricultural building, today the 'Kleines Schloss' or Small Castle, was reconstructed in its entirety to 1952, but due to its derelict state the main building had to be closed in 1953. In 1958 it was to a large extent demolished. It was historically reconstructed to 1960 with funds from the Gutehoffnungshütte ('Good Hope' steel complex), with its interior in the style of the 1950s.

Thanks to bestowals, at the beginning of the 1960s the museum became the recipient of the collections of Glass of the 20th Century, European Art from the Middle Ages to Modern Times and the Art of Foreign Cultures stemming from the Cologne collector Kasimir Hagen.
At the end of the 60s and under the guidance of the then director of the museum Professor Thomas Grochowiak, paintings from the Die Brücke expressionist group and their followers as well as works from the New Objectivity genre (such as by Otto Dix) and Critical Realism (Käthe Kollwitz) were integrated. With the Rolf Jäger bestowal in 1998 an extensive collection of German Expressionist prints was also received, focusing on the graphic oevre of Otto Pankok.

In 1983 the collecting couple Peter and Irene Ludwig established the Ludwig Institut für Kunst der DDR (Ludwig Institute for Art of the German Democratic Republic) in Oberhausen with a permanent loan of 500 works dedicated to East German art, and brought with them works from Bernhard Heisig, Wolfgang Mattheuer, Willi Sitte and Werner Tübke. In 1996 Peter and Irene Ludwig initiated a new concept for the location in the form of the Ludwig Galerie Schloss Oberhausen.


Kontakt

LUDWIGGALERIE Schloss Oberhausen

Konrad-Adenauer-Allee 46

46049 Oberhausen

Tel 0208 4124928

Fax 0208 4124913


ludwiggalerie@oberhausen.de

Schloss Oberhausen



Das Schloss Oberhausen geht wahrscheinlich auf den Rittersitz Overhus (auch Overhuysen, Averhus) aus dem späten 12. oder frühen 13. Jahrhundert zurück. Im Jahre 1443 fiel die Wasserburg, die eine Furt an der Emscher kontrollierte, an die in klevischem Lehensverbund stehende Familie von der Hoven. 1615 gelangte das Overhus dann in den Besitz Conrads von Boenen. Wegen ihrer Lage an dem wichtigen Emscherübergang wurde die Burg häufig geplündert und besetzt, so auch im Achtzigjährigen Krieg.
Der Burgherr Friedrich Adolf Freiherr von Boenen zu Berge und Oberhaus heiratete 1770 die Erbtochter Wilhelmine Franziska von Westerholt-Gysenberg und nahm 1779, vom Kaiser in den Reichsgrafenstand erhoben, Namen und Wappen ihres Geschlechts an. Doch die Westerholt-Gysenbergs residierten fortan im Schloss Berge und ließen die Burg Oberhausen verfallen.
1801 wies Friedrich Adolf seinem Sohn, Maximilian Friedrich Graf von Westerholt-Gysenberg, und dessen Gemahlin, Friederike Karoline von Bretzenheim, eine illegitime Tochter des bayerisch-pfälzischen Kurfürsten Karl Theodor, die Burg als zu pachtendes Landgut und Familiensitz zu.
Maximilian Friedrich, der 1806 als Oberstallmeister in die Dienste von Joachim Murat, dem Großherzog von Berg und ab 1808 König von Neapel, eingetreten war, flossen aus diesem Hofamt und ab 1809 auch aus dem Vermögen seiner Frau erhebliche Geldmittel zu. Ab 1803 ließ er sich vom Architekten August Reinking Pläne für den Um- und Ausbau eines ca. 200 Meter nordwestlich der Burg bestehenden Wirtshauses (Posthalterei) zu einem klassizistischen Herrenhaus vorlegen, nach den das Schloss als gräflicher Wohnsitz zwischen 1804 und 1820/1821 erbaut und ausgestaltet wurde. Ab 1808 konzipierte der Gartenarchitekt und Düsseldorfer Hofgärtner Maximilian Friedrich Weyhe die Gartenanlagen des Herrenhauses.
Vierzig Jahre später verlegte die Familie den Wohnsitz nach Schloss Arenfels bei Bad Hönningen; das Schloss Oberhausen wurde nach 1858 nicht mehr von Mitgliedern der gräflichen Familie bewohnt. 1884 stellte man auch den landwirtschaftlichen Gutsbetrieb ein und ab 1891 wurden die Schlossgebäude vermietet. 1896 kaufte die Stadt Oberhausen den Schlosspark und gestaltete ihn im Sinne eines Volksparks um. Das Schloss selbst wurde 1908 Eigentum der Emschergenossenschaft, die es bereits 1911 an die Stadt verkaufte.
Im Zweiten Weltkrieg wurden Teile des Haupthauses sowie das Dach des Kleinen Schlosses zerstört. 1947 eröffnete die Städtische Galerie mit einer Sammlung u.a. von impressionistischen Landschaften von Max Liebermann, Max Slevogt und Lovis Corinth. Einen Schwerpunkt bildete auch die Sammlung internationaler Grafik des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts mit Drucken von Pablo Picasso, Odilon Redon, Maurice Denis und weiteren.
Die Wirtschaftsgebäude, heute „Kleines Schloss“ wurden bis 1952 wieder vollständig aufgebaut. Wegen Baufälligkeit musste das Haupthaus jedoch 1953 geschlossen werden. 1958 ist es weitgehend abgetragen worden. Aus Mitteln der Gutehoffnungshütte wurde es bis 1960 historisierend wieder aufgebaut, die Innenräume im Stil der 50er-Jahre.
Durch Schenkungen kamen zu Beginn der 1960er-Jahre die Sammlungen Glas des 20. Jahrhunderts sowie Europäische Kunst vom Mittelalter bis zur Neuzeit und "Kunst fremder Völker" des Kölner Privatsammlers Kasimir Hagen in den Bestand des Museums.
Ende der 1960er-Jahre wurden vom neuen Leiter Professor Thomas Grochowiak erstmals Bilder von der expressionistischen Künstlergruppe Die Brücke und deren Umfeld sowie Werke von Vertretern der Neuen Sachlichkeit wie Otto Dix und des Kritischen Realismus wie Käthe Kollwitz aufgenommen. Unter Bernhard Mensch, dem Nachfolger Grochowiaks, kam 1988 mit der Schenkung Rolf Jäger ein Konvolut mit Druckgrafik des deutschen Expressionismus hinzu, dessen Schwerpunkt die Grafik Otto Pankoks bildet.
Das Sammlerehepaar Peter und Irene Ludwig begründete 1983 das Ludwig-Institut für Kunst der DDR in Oberhausen, hier wurden erstmals im Westen Positionen Ostdeutscher Kunst ausgestellt und bearbeitet. Mit dem Fall der Mauer entfiel diese Notwendigkeit, das Institut wurde 1991 aufgelöst.
Bei der Suche nach einer Neukonzeption gaben wiederum Peter und Irene Ludwig den Anstoß. Unter der Federführung von Bernhard Mensch und Professor Peter Pachnicke erhielt das Haus Mitte der 1990er Jahre - nun unter dem Namen LUDWIGGALERIE - sein neues Profil. Mit dem Anbau der "Vitrine", eines großen gläsernen Eingangsbereichs des Architekturbüros Eller + Eller, wurde der neuen Ausrichtung als "Bühne für die Kunst der Sammlung Ludwig" 1998 auch baulich Rechnung getragen.


Kontakt

LUDWIGGALERIE Schloss Oberhausen

Konrad-Adenauer-Allee 46

46049 Oberhausen

Tel 0208 4124928

Fax 0208 4124913


ludwiggalerie@oberhausen.de